SAP Knowledge Base Article - Public

2671910 - What happens when Assignment Profiles are inactivated/deactivated?

Symptom

Usually Assignment Profiles(AP) are set up to assign to active users only.  When a user that falls within the AP parameters becomes inactive, the AP will remove the assignment, then reassign once the user becomes active again (provided the AP is still running).

In the event of an AP being propagated and the users receive the assignment, then the AP is made inactive, if someone within the AP parameters becomes inactive after the AP is inactivated, what happens to the item assignements for these users?

Environment

SAP SuccessFactors Learning

Learning Management System (LMS)

Resolution

You can inactivate an Assignment Profile from the UI by following the below steps:

         1.Navigate to System Admin>Users>Assignment Profiles.

AP1.png

      2.Search for the Assignment profile you wish to inactivate and then click on it.

      3.Under Actions tab, you will see an option called 'Deactivate'.

AP2.png

      4.Click on Deactivate

      5.When you try to deactivate the Assignment Profile in the UI, you get two options as a pop-up:

  • Deactivate :
    Deactivating the assignment profile will prevent the assignment profile from making future assignments but keep current assignments intact.
  • Deactivate and Unassign : 
    Deactivate and Unassign action will remove all current assignments made by this assignment profile from all target users.

AP3.png

As you can see from the respective descriptions, the action that takes place to the user's Learning plan is based on the option that the admin selects at this step.

Now, coming to the second scenario when the user in the Assignment profile pool gets deactivated.There are two ways in which an user can be deactivated:

  1. Through connectors
  2. By and admin from the UI

1.Through connectors

Considering the scenario when the user is inactivated through connectors, the items assigned to the user's learning plan will be removed only if the properties 'sfuser.connector.inactiveRule.cleanDevPlan' or 'user.connector.inactiveRule.cleanDevPlan' is set to Y.

Please refer KBA article 2590132 for further information on this property.

2.By an admin from the UI

Considering the scenario when the user is inactivated by an admin from the UI.In order to do so, the admin needs to navigate to :

1.Admin>Users

2.Search for the User ID and click on it.

3.Change Active from Yes to No and click on 'Save'.

4.At this step, the admin gets a pop-up with the warnings as seen below.The changes to the user assignments depends on the option that the admin choses at this step.

AP4.png

See Also

KBA Articles : 2590132 and 2318341

Keywords

Assignment profiles,Inactivate,deactivate,user,learning plan,item,AP,sfuser.connector.inactiveRule.cleanDevPlan,user.connector.inactiveRule.cleanDevPlan,connector , KBA , LOD-SF-LMS-ASP , LMS AP , How To

Product

SAP SuccessFactors Learning all versions