You have included new fields in the selection pane of a report, and when tried to save the report selection you noticed a message saying: "Sorry. You can't overwrite admin or SAP selections".
However, after closing and reopening the report, you notice the fields previously included in the report selection pane continue showing up.
Reproducing the Issue
- Log into the system
- Go to work center Analysis and work center view Reports (or Business Analytics and Design Reports)
- Search and open the report ABC
- Make sure you are on the Initial (Standard) report selection
- Click on Add Fields
- Select one or more fields and check the option Display in Report Selection
- Note the new fields are now displayed in the report selection pane
- Now try to Save the report selection
- Note the message Sorry. You can't overwrite admin or SAP selections
- Close and reopen the report
- Note the fields previously added to the report selection are still showing up
When you include fields in the report selection via Add Fields, this is a personalization for your user ID, which means these changes won't affect other users. The values you include on these fields (e.g. you manually input the value 1234 in the field BCDE) consist on the report selection itself, and these values are the information which is considered at the moment you save the report selection. If you try to save new values over a SAP default selection (e.g. selection Initial), the changes will not be taken by the system, since default selections are used by other users and cannot be changed. On the other hand, personalizations on the report, such as new fields included in the selection, will be recorded since it won't affect other users.
This is the system expected behavior. In order to save a new report selection based on a admin or SAP selection, you must save it with a new name.
KBA , SRD-FIN-ERM , Travel and Expense Management , How To