2416455 - Terminated Date copied into Active User account when merged with a previously terminated user account

SAP Knowledge Base Article - Public

2416455 - Terminated Date copied into Active User account when merged with a previously terminated user account

Symptom

  • When a User who previously left a position and has a Terminated Date populated is merged with a new user account after being re-hired, the Terminated Date is populated into the Merged Active Uesr Account
  • This causes the User to be locked out and unable to login, even though he/she is an active user

Environment

  • SAP SuccessFactors
  • Learning Management System (LMS)

Reproducing the Issue

Create 2 User accounts that are the same/similar, except:

  1. User1 has been terminated
    • Set Terminated Date to date in the past
    • Set to Active to No
  2. User2 is not terminated
    • Terminated Date is blank
    • Active is Yes
  3. Navigate to User > Tools > Merge Users
  4. Use search criteria that returns both User1 & User2
  5. Select User1 as "Merge From User ID"
  6. Select User2 as "Merge Into User ID"
  7. Merge the Users
  8. Note that User1 is inactive (as expected)
  9. User2 remains active, but has a Terminated Date populated
  10. User2 is now unable to login to the LMS

Cause

  • Product Management has confirmed this is expected behavior (LRN-16221)
  • Merge User functionality is meant to be used for 2 existing active accounts
  • If a User is being rehired, the existing account should be used, following a re-hire scenario

Resolution

  • If Termination date isn't needed for an active user, remove the termination date from UserSnapshot prior to merging
    • - Or -
  • Use Rehire instead of merging a terminated user with an active user

Keywords

SF SuccessFactors Success Factors Learning Management System LMS terminate date merge user populate add lock block unable cannot login account active rehire , KBA , LOD-SF-LMS , SuccessFactors Learning , Problem

Product

SAP SuccessFactors Learning all versions