You have noticed that even when two users edit the same view, no error message is raised indicating a lock entry.
Reproducing the Issue
- Go to ABC work center (ABC is the name of the work center)
- Go to XYZ view (XYZ is the name of the view)
- Follow steps 1 to 3 with a different user.
You notice that although both users are editing the same view, both are still in edit mode and are allowed to initiate a change. No error message is raised so far.
In ByDesing/ SAP Hybris Cloud for Customer there are two different concepts for locking an object. These different lock types may be explained as follows:
The exclusive lock is always maintained on the first modification and reverted to the optimistic lock once the instance is saved. If more than one user is accessing the same instance of the fixed assets, then all have the optimistic lock. Once any user make any changes on the instance then for the other users there is no event raised. Hence, the other use still have the optimistic lock whereas the person who is performing the modification will have exclusive lock on the instance.
The system should not allow two or more users to have exclusive lock at the same time if the event is triggered. If both the users are editing and user who first starts modifying the instance didn't save the instance then the other user wouldn't be able to perform modification because the first user already has the instance with exclusive lock and will be able to perform modification once the instance is saved by the other user.
The same behavior is seen in most of the screens and where a document can be edited or the edit screen is there for the instance, like period control and process control.
- User A open the fixed asset in edit mode and user B open the same asset also in edit mode: Both the users have the optimistic lock and are able to initiate a change
- User B triggers a change, e.g. update the useful life, without saving. User B now has the exclusive lock of the instance and only this user is able to perform changes.
- User A tries to trigger an change, however at this time user A will get the error message, since user B has the exclusive lock.
- User B save his change. The exclusive lock is removed and both users will have the optimistic lock, allowing each one of them to initiate a new change event.
- User A refresh the screen in order to clear the lock error. The changed data is already updated in the asset, e.g. the updated useful life.
The changes can be tracked via change log.
This is the designed sistem behavior.
KBA , AP-BP-BPT , Business Partner Template , How To