SAP Knowledge Base Article - Public

2354054 - How to archive an SAP Jam Group without deleting it

Symptom

How can a user archive an SAP Jam group without deleting it? 

In some instances a user may wish to make a group inactive, other users not able to view the group but not delete it. 

Cause

An example would be that the project for which the group was created has ended but may be active in the future. 

Resolution

If you wish to archive an SAP Jam group but have the ability to use it again in the future please follow these steps:

1 Remove all users from the group, expect yourself

remove from group.jpg

 

2 From the left-hand column click 'Group Admin' and 'Edit Group'

edit group.jpg

 

3 In the 'Name' field add the word 'Archive' to the start of your group name

4 In the 'Description' field add some relevant text stating that the group is no longer active

5 Change the group type to 'Private'. This will ensure that the

6 Under 'Invite Policy' ensure that the tickbox 'Allow others to request to join this group' is not ticked.

editing.jpg

 

The result of the above steps is that: 

  • the group will not appear in search results
  • the group will not appear in 'Browse groups'
  • users cannot request to join the grouop

If you wish to 're-activate' the group again simply update the name, invite users to the group and change the group type and invite policy, if desired

 

 

Keywords

  • hide
  • invisible
  • close
  • retire
, KBA , LOD-SF-JAM , SAP Jam , How To

Product

SAP Jam Collaboration all versions