SAP Knowledge Base Article - Public

2316896 - Unlock an Item that is showing as locked in the User's learning plan

Symptom

1) If an item has the setting "Lock Item after failure" at the item level "Failure Action" settings with a maximum number of attempts mentioned at "Times user can fail before action", after that attempt the item would be locked in the user's learning plan.

ItemLock-Setting.jpg

The item would appear as "Locked out" in the user's Learning Plan.

Item-Locked-LearningPlan.jpg

Environment

SuccessFactors Learning Management System (LMS) - All Supported Versions

Resolution

1. If the item is still in the user Learning Plan, we could enable the user for one more attempt.

  • Go to the “Object Details” of the item in the “Items assigned” of an user account as an adminLockedItem-LearningPlan.jpg

  • Select the object that you want to provide access to the user(in the above image, user doesn’t have access)

  • LockedItem-LearningPlan-Access.jpg

  • Check “Has Access” and “Apply Changes”.

  •  The item would be unlocked now for the User to access it once.

************************************************************************************************************************************************************

2. If the item is removed from the user's Learning Plan after it is locked and reassigned(this should not be done in general but if by mistake this is done), the Item would not have the "Object Details"(as it is a new assignment) and the item would still be in "Locked Out" state as the association would continue from where it had left and in this case:

Item-Locked-LearningPlan-NoObject.jpg

  • Disable(do not reassign it to the users yet) “Record learning event when all content is complete” or “Record learning event when quiz/content passed”(if both are enabled), enable it again and reassign it to the affected user(s) and if one of the settings is disabled already, please enable that, save changes and reassign it to the affected user(s) 

Item-AllContent.jpg

and

Item-Content.jpg

  • When you re-assign the item that was locked out earlier to the same user, it would now have the “Object Details”.

 

Keywords

Locked Out, learning plan, item locked, No Content Object, LMS, Learning Administration, Learning , KBA , LOD-SF-LMS-ITE , LMS Items , LOD-SF-LMS-COR , LMS Core - Items, Catalog, Curricula , Problem

Product

SAP SuccessFactors Learning all versions