2144696 - What are default user permissions? - Platform

SAP Knowledge Base Articles - public

2144696 - What are default user permissions? - Platform


Overview of Default user permissions


  • Platform


The following users automatically get the default user permissions:

-The Default User Group;

  • All users you add in the future.

The ability to log in and see the Home page are automatically granted as default user permissions. If you want employees to have more privileges, for example the ability to see their Goal Plans, you have to grant additional default user permissions. Bear in mind, however, that all current and future employees will have the default user permissions you grant. Make sure you grant additional default user permissions only to the features that you want all employees to access.

If you want to revoke a permission you granted as a default user permission, you must revoke them from the Default User Permissions Setting page. You will not be able to revoke these permissions from other Admin Tools pages.

The Default User Permissions page in the ‘Manage Security’ section shows all privileges that you can define as default user permissions. You use this page to grant and revoke default user permissions.  

Admin Tools > Set User Permissions > Default User Permission:



Important! We strongly recommend that you don't grant all permissions on the Default User Permissions page. We recommend granting:


perm2.jpgIf you don't grant any default user permissions (if no checkboxes are selected on the Default User Permission Settings page), employees can only log in and view their forms. We recommend granting the following default user permissions, then granting additional permissions to individual employees or roles


KBA , LOD-SF-PLT , Foundational Capabilities & Tools , How To


SAP SuccessFactors HCM Core all versions