You have a product categories that youdon't want to use anymore. At the same time, you dont want to delete these product categories as they appear in some receipts and you should be able to reproduce the former account allocation.
How to avoid that the employees don't use these product categories anymore but that they still stay active for receipts where they are used?
The system works as designed.
In current release, we do not offer a possibility to phase our product categories. Once a product category is on use it will remain usable. You can not delete a product category once it has been used.
Product category once in use can`t be set to unusable or deletable.
This functionality is considered in the next higher release of the product.
KBA , SRD-HR-TLM , Time and Labour Management , Product Enhancement