SAP Knowledge Base Article - Public

2305693 - What Happens to Assigned Training and History When a User ID Deactivated?

Symptom

This KB article outlines what happens to a user record when it is deactivated either manually or via connector in the Learning Management System.

Environment

SAP SuccessFactors Learning

Resolution

When a User is deactivated manually via the LMS User record there is no change.

When a User deactivated via connector:

  • Learning Plan > all items removed except any survey
  • Learning History > remains
  • Curricula > removed
  • Classes they may be enrolled in > the enrollment status changes to canceled and item removed from their learning plan
  • Programs > removed
  • Learning Activity > item removed from learning activity in BizX and Learning plan in LMS

In relation to connectors, the following parameter can be configured.

  • Navigate to System Administration > Configuration > System Configuration > CONNECTORS

If the User Connector-SF is being used, then search for sfuser.connector.inactiveRule.cleanDevPlan
If the User Connector is being used, then search for user.connector.inactiveRule.cleanDevPlan

Connector parameter behavior:

  1. If set it to Y

The connector maintains its current behavior (it removes all objects from the users' learning plans)

  1. If set it to N

Learning History > remains
Learning Plan > all Items remains
Curricula > completed Items under curricula remain
Class > removed from Learning Plan
Program > completed and incompleted Items, Texts, Links, etc. remain
Learning Activities > Items stay

Note:

The information provided above holds true for manual and bulk assignments outside of assignment profiles. It is important to remember inactivating a user might change other attributes of their record (like  domain or organization for instance) depending on your business processes.

If those users deactivated were part of assignment profiles, they might become excluded from the target population of the assignment profile. Then next time the synchronization happens, trainings/roles/curriculum/catalogs that were assigned to the users will be removed regardless of how they were deactivated.

As always, best practice recommends to try this out on a sample of users on your test system first. Once you are satisfied with the results, proceed with mass deactivation on your production system.

Keywords

SF, Success Factors, LMS, termination, terminate user, deactivate, users, deactivations, inactivate, learning plan, behavior, inactivate, inactive, in active delete, purge, associated training, DRM, inactiveRule.cleanDevPlan , KBA , LOD-SF-LMS-CON , Connectors , How To

Product

SAP SuccessFactors Learning all versions