The purpose of this document is to explain how the process of closing project works and when you should close your implementation project.
Reproducing the Issue
In Activity Close Project in your Implementation Project, you receive errors while closing the project or you don't know when you can close it.
Closing a project is the final action after you successfully implemented the configurations that you have done in the project. Close can be seen as the final action at the end of the lifecycle. After closing a project it can't be changed anymore and exists only for reference purposes. It is also not displayed anymore in the default list of projects. Close is an activity in the Activity List of a project. You can find it in Go-Live tab of your project. All other activities have to be done, before Close can be executed.
If you have started a change project but you don't want to proceed with what you have already done, you cancel it. This means that you end it before you actually went through all the activities. Cancel is an action at the overview page of a change project.
To cancel the project, you just need to click on title of your implementation project and select the option under button action.
Closing the First/Initital Implementation Project
An implementation project can only be closed after the Go Live Activity is executed. It means, the Close Project activity can only be performed after the status of First/InititalImplementation is Completed.
There is sometimes confusion when looking at the Activity List's Go Live tab: it contains the Close activity together with three other activities and since the status of the Close activity is open even after Go Live, the Go Live tab shows 75% completion before Close can be executed. People sometimes think, that the Go Live is not complete, but actually just the number of activities in the Go Life tab of the Activity List is counted here.
So don't be confused: Close is never a precondition for Go Live, it always comes after that!
Closing Change Projects
A change project is any project created after your First Implementation Project is completed or closed.
Generally you can close a Change Project after all other activities which are included in project are completed. In many cases this means, after you have merged it, but there can be situation in which Close is not yet possible because there are still activities open:
- Activate Solution Capabilities
- Data Migration or other activities that have to be done after the Merge
Activate Solution Capablities
Depending on the business configuration changes that have been done in the change project, you might get an activity Activate Solution Capabilities after you have merged the project. You may have already completed this action before the Merge but it opens again.
This is a special activity that switches on the communication/integration capabilites of newly scoped components. You need to complete this activity in order to Activate some elements after the merge. After completing this activity, the status of the project will be changed to Activated.
So, after merging the project, check if the Activate Solution Capabilities activity is open. Without performing and closing this activity, you will not be able to close the project.
Data Migration and Other Activities
Besides the Activate Solution Capabilities, the activities flagged as Repetition Required as Yes in activity list might be open after Merging the project.
They also have to be completed. You actually don't need to do something in those activities (only if you want), but you have to close the activities again.
KBA , AP-RC-BCT , Business Config. Tools (SAP Business ByDesign , How To